NL Gazette

Canada bans travel from seven South African countries amid new concerns about Covid variants.

We are “acting swiftly to protect the health and safety of Canadians,” Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos told reporters in Ottawa. “people who have traveled to southern Africa in the last 14 days have been banned from entering Canada.

” The largest airline of Canada, Air Canada, has lost up to 11% since June 2020. However, the damage was widespread. Each sector of the S & P / TSX Comprehensive Index was weak, with stock benchmarks losing 2.3% to their highest level in 13 months. Energy stocks fell and the sector fell 3.7% as oil prices plummeted.

The seven countries are South Africa, Mozambique, Botswana, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Namibia, and Eswatini. A week ago, Air Canada said it no longer needed support under the government’s bailout of $ 5.9 billion ($ 4.6 billion). 

On the same day, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s administration said it would ease testing requirements for vaccinated Canadians on short trips to the United States. Some economists have warned that the spread of varieties can have a significant impact on economic activity. 

“Some countries have already banned flights from Africa, but this variant may already be brewed elsewhere,” said Avery Shenfeld, chief economist at the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce on Friday, Said in a report to investors. Antibody treatments can still protect against serious consequences, which are crucial in determining whether they can bring us back to our physical and financial path of healing. “

Read More: Canada bans travel from 7 South African nations amid new Covid variant concern (

Get Canada and Newfoundland’s top News, Market news, and other worldwide news only on

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *